Vintage is All the Rage…

I have always loved junk shops.  Or antique stores.  Or the new hipster term – Curated Vintage Stores.   No matter what you call them, I loved them then and I love them still…

When I was young and first able to walk to the corner store, there was a furniture refinishing company a few doors down from the market.   I would gaze into the windows and through all the dust to see the shining pieces of glass strewn about.  I was not an antique shop in the common sense, but it had a wide range of random furniture, glassware, pottery and artwork.  One of the first purchases I ever made with my own money was a pink depression glass tray.   It was a gift for my mother.  I still have it and use it in my bathroom.

I would estimate a good 50% of things I own and love are vintage, thrift, antique or hand-me-down.  Aside from loving to surround myself with things that tell something about me, I love what they tell about themselves and the myriad of possibilities of how they came to be loved in the first place.  I have a piece of Roseville pottery from an auction with a piece of tape on the bottom, indicating it was a wedding gift in 1923.  I have bowls with chips and cracks that I imagine came from someone’s grandmother 80 years ago making biscuits in every morning for her family.  I not only love the actual, but the implied and likely history of common household goods.

To me, living well is not about spending the most money.   It is about surrounding yourself with people and things that make you happy and complete.  It’s not about being able to feel better because you have more or better;  it’s about knowing you are happy in your skin and others seeing it shine through.

With the economy where it is, thrift stores and consignment shops have become trendy.  Resale is chic and bargains are suddenly no longer a dirty word.   It might be my New England upbringing, but a good thrift store find is always exciting.  Anyone can walk into a department store and shop the latest offering from Martha Stewart or Jonathan Adler.  Both have lovely items, but you run the risk of having the same thing everyone else does.

The last few months have been busy, but I’ve managed to hit a few of my favorite thrift stores and had a few great finds!  Not all of it came home with me, as the Manor only needs so much, But there are great finds to be had, if you patient, open-minded and willing to look in unlikely places…

This may be half of the best purchase I have made in ages.  1957 Kent Coffey “Goldenaire” chest and dresser with mirror.   I saw these in a Salvation Army warehouse store and pretty much grabbed the tickets the moment I saw them.  There was a hipster couple furniture shopping at the same time as we and had already snagged a really amazing rocker.   These were meant to be mine!  We had been in need of case furniture for our  bedroom to replace the functional, but over-scaled dark cherry Traditional armoire that was a place holder from the old house.   I wanted something masculine and vintage with good storage.   These were perfection!   And at the risk of being gauche, or of being a braggart,  we got them both for under $100.

Settled in at home, they look great, although I need to get a better camera, I think!

We also picked up these two chairs at the same place for $10.  They don’t really fit in the living room, but they might find a home in the guest room, once It is repainted.  I love the 70’s vibe, the Chartreuse colored velvet and they are super comfortable to boot!


A few weeks earlier, I came across this dresser at a shop that usually has a lot of French Country and Shabby Chic items, but occasionally has had some interesting items at reasonable prices —  I’ve found some of my best treasures in unlikely places — Mid-Century amongst the Shabby Chic, 1920’s Art Pottery amongst tools, Victorian Ironstone Transferware mixed amongst vintage clothing.

I loved the masculinity of this chest and the softness of the color and it came home with me.  It is overflow storage for the time being, until we manage to stay out of the thrift shops and strip the guest room wallpaper!

Such a handsome piece!

Sometimes, you find the perfect item that needs a bit of love; read, paint.    They are autumn projects, but I just love these, from a design perspective.  Both were less than $10. and already add a lot of character, even without the new finish or paint.

I’m note sure if I want this white and put on the porch or bring it inside in white or another pop of color somewhere.  Any suggestions?

I also picked this  up –  it’s a great vintage bedside table.  Sadly, there was only one, but I couldn’t resist the design.  It also is up-in-the-air as to color, use and placement, so any commentary is appreciated!I’m not 100% certain of the maker, but it seems that this design was popular in the 1960’s and several major manufacturers made a version of it.   I have seen the bureau pieces sell in the many hundred’s of dollars so I was pretty jazzed to get this for $7.

I also managed to pic up a really great sides Ironstone square tray for $1.49 and a set of four turquoise blue rocks glasses for $2.

So, I admitted my love of vintage —  How about you?  What is your best recent find?  What is your best find ever??  Maybe one of these days, I admit my best-ever find…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment